Original Soundtrack – Exploitation

Original Soundtrack – Exploitation (2LP, 250 copies) SOLD OUT

Life Is A Mass…

‘Exploitation’ is the new film by Dutch independent filmmaker Edwin Brienen. Enfant Terrible produced the soundtrack for this gothic-noir satiric fresco. 90 minutes of music to be enjoyed both as true soundtrack as well as a sequel to previous Enfant Terrible compilations… but more dramatic and ritualistic in the way the record is building up… it will please fans of minimal electronics and (post) industrial music but also moves into different styles such as idm, tekno, angst pop and chanson… while always keeping a dark and cold mood and/or dream state feeling throughout…

A little more about Edwin Brienen… he enjoys poking at sensitive subjects of our post 9/11 era and post-postmodern period: religion, sex, and politics; from fundamentalist islam to the prudish christianism, through exuberant homosexuality, and the delusion of formated heterosexuality. This provocateur brings together in his artwork many contradictory features. The innocence that can be perceived in some of his movies is incongruous with his characters’ excessive violence and inconsiderate nihilism. But this is just an apparent contradiction. What unites his movies is Brienen’s frankness with which he displays a corrupt system. The honesty and instantness of his films risk to be mistaken for a lack of subtlety, but are in fact the striving for total freedom of expression.

A little more about the film… “Exploitation” uses the so-called ‘mise en abyme’ principle and shows a fictitious film in the film, called “Apocalypse, Part 3”: a breathtaking ‘Abendland’ of dreamy pictures and nightmarish visions. It’s all there: baphomets, paganism, bizarre costumes. Especially some old-time obsessions of the director are highly celebrated here: the esthetics of Death in June, the works of painter Arnold Böcklin, or Aleister Crowley’s Thelema spirituality.

The film had its premiere at the Lausanne Underground Film and Music Festival in October 2012.


A1 Neugeborene Nachtmusik – Cookie Jar
A2 Europ Europ –  Affection Addict
A3 Nihiltronix – Mass
A4 Europ Europ – Hard Scores (Instrumental)
A5 Distel – Fall

B1 Former Descent – Accepting Transmissions
B2 Europ Europ – Harsh Love (Female Version)
B3 Sololust – Believe Me
B4 Zarkoff – Wormwood Sonatina

C1 Europ Europ – Stormy Pacific (Extended)
C2 The Spectrometers – Mars En Train
C3 Unité November – Novo Uomo
C4 Neugeborene Nachtmusik – Han Dog

D1 Embers – Swamp Thing (Instrumental)
D2 oplen – Skikt
D3 The New Age – Soft Touch

Selected press quotes:

“…Op ‘Exploitation’, de laatste worp van Brienen, verzorgt Enfant Terrible de muziek. Op beproefde werkwijze, want de soundtrack mag worden geplaatst in de lijn van de dienstbare compilaties die het label eerder uitbracht vol met geluiden uit de Nederlandse tegenculuur. Met bijdragen van Neugeborene Nachtmusik, Distel, Europ Europ, Nihiltronix, Sololust en het Vlaamse Embers mag de liefhebber van minimale elektronica, kille wave, elektro, techno en ander experiment zich verkneukelen, want wederom slaat het label van Martijn van Gessel een brug tussen heden en de jaren 1980 zonder de verzanden in oppervlakkige reproducties. Na ‘Electronic Renaissance’, ‘Festival der Genialen Dissidenten’ en ‘Kamp Holland’ levert Enfant Terrible somber prachtwerk af, dat geheel past binnen het tegendraadse gedachtegoed van die dekselse Edwin Brienen.” (Gonzo Circus)

“…Nu passen al deze tracks prima achter elkaar om een film van de muzikale diepgang te voorzien, maar ook los staan deze nummers fier overeind en spreken tot de verbeelding. Het is daarom niet alleen een prachtige, diepgravende soundtrack geworden, ook is het een geweldig document vol hedendaagse klasse acts die buiten de geijkte paden om voor schitterend duistere pracht zorgen.” (Caleidoscoop)

“…Het muzikale profiel van Enfant Terrible leent zich perfect voor het samenstellen van een filmsoundtrack. De catalogus van het Nederlandse label bulkt namelijk als sinds 2004 van spannende, narratieve en sfeervolle (tegen)geluiden. … Trouw aan het artistieke DNA van Enfant Terrible passeren er dus minimale elektronica en post-industriële muziek, maar het spectrum wordt evenzeer uitgebreid met pompende techno, IDM, angst pop, experimentele elektronica en chanson. Voortreffelijke soundtrack!” (Gonzo Circus)

“…En deux mots, il pourrait s’agir de la BO d’un chef-d’oeuvre et ce double vinyle figurera sans aucun doute parmi les plus fascinants soundtracks de la décennie. Beau et noir, tout en faisant preuve d’une grande originalité et d’innovation sonore. Et si le film n’était pas à la hauteur, ces musiques se suffisent à elles-mêmes, avec certitude.” (Obskure Mag)

“…this 2LP soundtrack is all kinds of awesome. Full of crunching industrial minimalism and sleek, sparse, synth poems. Within the unrelenting thud and pulse of the soundtrack’s four sides, Soft Touch – the album’s (and presumably film’s) final track – is the only space of vulnerability. As such, in this context, it teeters almost into faux-naivety, while at the same time reading as desperately, unapologetically heartfelt. Much like how the Twin Peaks soundtracks beautifully navigate an almost-untenable thread connecting the hyper-exaggerated sentiment of incidental sitcom muzak and psyche-staining horror (mostly within the same few soft jazz cadences). And they’re the greatest soundtracks of all time.” (20jazzfunkgreats)