Renée van Trier – Wow Us All Away

Renée van Trier – Wow Us All Away (C30, cassette artefact, 200 copies) SOLD OUT

Wow is now…

Next to being part of Milligram Retreat, a collaboration with Maurice Hermes, Renée van Trier is active as a visual and performance artist. On the occasion of her solo exhibition at the Stedelijk Museum ‘s-Hertogenbosch in Holland her solo debut album is released in the form of this artifact.

While Milligram Retreat seem to have the right balance between experiment and structured songwriting the solo work of Van Trier seems dominated by chaos. Still this chaos is also here only a means to an end to seduce, irritate, deceive and excite her audience.

The album “Wow Us All Away” is a selection of careful picked pieces that are part of the characters Van Trier has brought to life for her performances. This album is both an overview of her work up till now as a story on its own. It is a story about the world around as seen through the eyes of a child, or to be more precise through the eyes of an adult with a childish perception.

Musically this takes shape in raw electronic pieces with hints of Neue Deutsche Welle that refer to the best work of Malaria!, some Dadaistic improvisations and undefined free sounds. Laurie Anderson is never that far away and a hint of Yoko Ono is also to be found in some pieces. With “Wow Us All Away” Van Trier shows she is an upcoming multi-talent.


A1 The Helpfull Ghost
A2 Broke
A3 Have a Cold
A4 Elegy
A5 Trumpet Exhausts
A6 Birdy
A7 Wortlaut

B1 Avoid Jumping Into Emotional Swamps 
B2 Optimum
B3 I Choose Who I Am
B4 A Wave of Suicide
B5 Pointing Fingers
B6 The Good Old Days

Selected press quotes:

“Die Cassette der Künstlerin RENÉE VAN TRIER wurde anlässlich einer Ausstellung veröffentlicht und wird darüber hinaus eben von den Holländern vertrieben. Die Gesamtauflage beträgt 200 Exemplare und die Aufmachung kommt in guter alter Tapeszene Tradition. Ein Beiblatt, ein behaarter Gipsknochen und ein Poster, in das die Cassette eingewickelt ist machen aus jedem Exemplar ein Unikat. … Auf jeden Fall gibt es hier rund 30 Minuten ausgesprochen spannende Musik zu hören, die unter Liebhabern experimentell-minimalistischer Sounds sicher schnell Gefallen finden wird.” (Backagain)